November 2017—Steering Committee meeting

The steering committee for the National Red Imported Fire Act Eradication Program – South East Queensland (the National Program) met on 17 November 2017 in Brisbane. This followed an initial meeting of the interim steering committee on 5 July 2017, which discussed the strategy for the National Program.

The steering committee has been established to provide overarching governance, strategic oversight and advice on the national program and consists of senior Commonwealth and interstate biosecurity representatives. The steering committee is independently chaired by Dr Wendy Craik.

The steering committee members are:

Dr Wendy Craik Independent Chair
Josephine Laduzco Australian Government
Dr John Robertson Queensland
Dr Bruce Christie New South Wales
Dr Emily Phillips Victoria
Sarah Corcoran Northern Territory
Dr Lloyd Klumpp Tasmania
Dr Sonya Broughton Western Australia

Proxies attended for Queensland and Victoria.

The steering committee approved the overarching Ten-Year Eradication Plan 2017–18 to 2026–27 and the 2017–2018 National Program Work Plan. A summary of the ten-year eradication plan is now available.

The steering committee also considered the principles for cost-sharing arrangements across the jurisdictions for the $411 million funding of the national program over the ten years.

Further, the steering committee received updates on treatment issues, movement controls for fire ant carriers and considered progress reports including the national program’s 1st Quarter Report for 2017-18.

On 16 November, the steering committee undertook a site visit to infested areas to witness the problem first-hand and the eradication activities being undertaken.

The next steering committee meeting for the national program is scheduled for February 2018. Communiques will be issued by the steering committee on an ongoing basis.

For updates visit the page on the steering committee for the National Red Imported Fire Act Eradication Program.