Native timber advisory panel

Why establish the native timber advisory panel?

While the government has made a number of immediate decisions, there is still work to do on final policy decisions. As part of the native timber action plan, the government has committed to establishing a native timber  advisory panel responsible for providing advice on policy options and implications for the future of the industry. The panel will consider native forestry on state and privately-owned land, conservation, and climate change outcomes, economic impacts, and opportunities for regional communities.

The panel includes representation from a cross-section of stakeholders to ensure that wide-ranging views are heard and fully understood. The approach allows for open engagement and provides real opportunities for input into the policy development process.

The native timber advisory panel’s role

The panel’s role is to advise the government on policy options and implications for the native timber industry. It will work on ensuring a long-term sustainable future for the native timber industry that balances jobs and the environment.

How was the panel established?

The panel has an independent chair, and panel members have been agreed upon by the government.

Who are the panel members?

The native timber advisory panel brings key stakeholders together to consider native forestry on state-owned and privately owned land, conservation outcomes, economic impacts and opportunities for regional communities.

Native timber advisory panel members are:

Mr Alan Feely, Chair

Mr Feely has over 20 years of experience with the New South Wales and Queensland governments and the mining sector.

Mr Mick Stephens, Timber Queensland

Mr Stephens is the Chief Executive Officer of Timber Queensland, the peak state industry body for the timber industry, and a member of the Koala Advisory Council.

Mr John McNamara, Parkside Group

Mr McNamara is Chief Executive Officer at Parkside Group. He has close to 40 years of experience in the timber industry and has held senior positions with Hyne, Auspine and Boral.

Mr Raymond (Curly) Tatnell, DTM Timber

Mr Tatnell is the Managing Director of DTM Timber, operating a native hardwood sawmill, a dry sawmill, three treatment plants and three native hardwood pole yards.

Mr Sean Ryan, Private Forestry Service Queensland

Mr Ryan has 40 years of experience within the natural resource management industry. He has extensive experience in natural area management and community forest extension, landholder liaison and stakeholder engagement.

Ms Virginia Young, Strategic Interventions

Prior to her involvement in conservation, Ms Young was a successful businesswoman. She headed the mining section of the Foreign Investment Division within the Federal Treasury.

Dr Aila Keto, Australian Rainforest Conservation Society

Dr Keto is co-founder and president of the Australian Rainforest Conservation Society – a position she has held for more than 30 years.

Ms Laura Hahn, National Parks Association of Queensland

Ms Hahn has more than 25 years of experience in environmental management and conservation. Ms Hahn works to promote the preservation, expansion and good management of national parks and other forms of protected areas in Queensland.

Ms Laura Gowdie, Australian Workers Union

Ms Laura Gowdie is an Industry Advocate for the Australian Workers’ Union. She brings over 10 years of experience in roles supporting elected officials, including as a policy advisor.

Ms Leann Wilson, Regional Economic Solutions

Ms Wilson is an experienced executive, business owner and First Nations leader who has been at the pioneering forefront of opening dialogue with and delivering outcomes for business, government, and communities.

Professor Brendan Mackey, Griffith University

Prof Mackey is Director of the Griffith Climate Action Beacon, Griffith University, Queensland, Australia. Prof Mackey areas of expertise span forest ecology and management, climate change risk assessment, and ecosystem-based mitigation and adaptation.

The native timber advisory panel’s communique

October 2022 communique (PDF, 94.0KB)

December 2021 communique (PDF, 102.2KB)