When rabbits first reached Queensland in the 1880s from the southern states, a fence was quickly constructed along the border in an attempt to keep them out.
In 1930, all existing rabbit boards were abolished except three - the Leichhardt, Darling Downs and Moreton. In 1963, the Leichhardt Rabbit Board closed and the Darling Downs Rabbit Board took over 80 km of the fence, extending it west of Chinchilla. The following year, the Darling Downs Rabbit Board and the Moreton Rabbit Board merged and became the Darling Downs-Moreton Rabbit Board (DDMRB).
The fence is now 555 km long and stretches from Lamington National Park in the east, to Goombi in the south-west where it connects to the wild dog barrier fence. It protects about 28,000 square km within southern Queensland.
The DDMRB fence provides a unique form of protection against the incursion of rabbits, and has successfully prevented the establishment of rabbits within its boundaries.
If rabbits are found within the DDNRB district area they are eradicated.