Maps of fire ant biosecurity zones

The fire ant restricted areas within Yarwun, Callemondah, Targinnie and Curtis Island in the Gladstone region have been removed and restrictions on the movement of fire ant carriers have been lifted. We encourage the Gladstone community to continue to be committed to biosecurity best practices and report any exotic pests to Biosecurity Queensland on 13 25 23.

As of 1 July 2016, fire ant biosecurity zones come into effect and will replace all previous versions of the fire ant restricted area.


South east Queensland


Maps are based on data provided with the permission of The State of Queensland - Department of Natural Resources and Mines 2012; The State of Queensland - Department of Agriculture and Fisheries and Pitney Bowes Software 2012. Mapping products created by Spatial Services, BQCC, Oxley. 

Further information

Last updated 01 July 2016