Closed seasons in fresh waters

This page provides information on closed seasons for recreational fishing in fresh waters. Information on closed seasons in tidal waters is also available.

Why do we have closed seasons?

Closed seasons prevent people from fishing at certain times of the year to protect species at vulnerable times in their life cycle, such as during spawning seasons.

The following closed seasons run from midnight to midnight – from 12.01am on the first day of the closure to 11.59pm on the last day of the closure.


Throughout the Queensland east coast a closed season applies to barramundi from 1 November to 31 January, except in and from waterways upstream of:

  • Aplins Weir (also includes Black Weir and Gleeson Weir)
  • Awoonga
  • Ben Anderson Barrage (also includes Paradise Dam, Claude Wharton Weir, Jones Weir and Wuruma Dam)
  • Burdekin Falls
  • Callide
  • Eungella
  • Fairbairn
  • Fred Haigh (Lake Monduran)
  • Kinchant
  • Koombooloomba
  • Lenthalls
  • Peter Faust
  • Teemburra
  • Tinaroo
  • Wuruma Dams
  • Lake Fred Tritton
  • Lake Gregory (Isis Balancing Storage)
  • Lake Morris (Copperlode Falls Dam)
  • East Leichhardt Dam and Belmore
  • Corella
  • Julius and Moondarra Lakes.

Throughout the Gulf of Carpentaria, a closed season applies to barramundi from 7 October to 31 January.

These closures do not apply in East Leichhardt Dam and Belmore, Corella, Julius, Fred Tritton and Moondarra lakes, and to waterways upstream of these impoundments.

A possession limit of 1 barramundi applies during the closed season in all of the 18 lakes and dams mentioned above. The barramundi may be greater than 120 cm. Recreational fishers may continue to fish in the 18 dams and lakes once they have reached their limit of 1 barramundi.

Outside of the closed season, in the 18 dams and lakes mentioned above, a possession limit of 5 applies to barramundi that may include one barramundi greater than 120 cm.

It is also prohibited to deliberately target barramundi for catch and release during these closed seasons, as the stress of capture may prevent fish from spawning. Barramundi caught accidentally during the closed season must be immediately returned to the water unharmed.

Murray cod

A closed season applies to Murray cod from 1 August to 31 October each year in all Queensland waters contained in the Murray Darling Drainage Division. An exception to this closed season applies to Beardmore Dam, Beehive Dam, Connolly Dam, Cooby Dam, Coolmunda Dam, Glenlyon Dam,  Leslie Dam and Storm King Dam.

Further information