Protected and no-take species

Fish and other aquatic species, as well as wetland habitats, are a finite resource and require protection or regulation if future generations are to enjoy them.

Some species are particularly vulnerable to exploitation and require more strict regulation or protection. Research determines the extent of protection required.

For some species, only one gender is protected (e.g. female blue swimmer crabs); for others only egg-bearing (berried) females are protected, while other species are totally protected.

Some species are identified as no-take species for similar reasons as above or because they may pose a risk to people eating them.

No-take species

The following species are protected throughout Queensland and are therefore prohibited from being in anyone's possession without a permit. If accidentally caught, these species must be immediately and carefully returned to the water.

Fresh waters

Tidal waters

Other protected species

There are other species of fish and marine animals protected under the Nature Conservation Act 1992. These include grey nurse sharks, whales, porpoises, dugongs, turtles, dolphins, and the following freshwater fish - Elizabeth Springs goby, Oxleyan pygmy perch, red-finned blue-eye and honey blue-eye.

For more information on animals protected under the Nature Conservation Act contact the Department of Environment and Science.

Further information